Western Canada Summer Games

Western Canada Summer Games

A multi-sport event, the Western Canada Summer Games are designed to provide development opportunities for amateur athletes and to help them advance their skills in a competitive, but friendly environment. The games also serve to broaden the exposure of talented athletes and provide a training ground for national and international level competitions.
Social and cultural elements round out the sporting events for athletes, coaches, volunteers and spectators. The four western provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba) and the three northern territories (Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut) send teams to these games which are held every four years.
The Western Canada Summer Games were first held in 1975 in Regina, Saskatchewan with the four western provinces ~ British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba ~ competing. In 1983, Yukon and the Northwest Territories joined in and 2003 saw the addition of Nunavut.


The 2015 Games will be held in Wood Buffalo, Alberta from August 8th to 11th.

Congratulations to the following athletes who have been named to the Western Canada Summer Games

Team that will be competing in August in Wood Buffalo (aka: Fort McMurray) Alberta.  

WCSG Men   WCSG Women
Jared Allary   Quinn Anderson
Simon Berube   Nicole Balzer
Connor Boyd   Brooke-Lynn Boyd
Caleb De Jong   Geselle Dela Merced
Mathieu Desmarais   Tyra Duma
Shane Dillon   Rebekah Eckert
Jamie Dumaran   Kyanna Giles
Chad Enns   Kyia Giles
Caleb Friesen   Belinda Guerra
Luxon Glor   Jessica Gundrum
Isaac Henry   Taylor Heald
Daniel Heschuk   Regan Hofley
Quenton Hurdal   Sophia Mbabaali
James Kenny   Rachael McLeod
Justin Krantz   Nicola Odaisky
Michael Medal   Sciera Opaleke
William Nti   Claudia Parrott
Evan Ratzlaff   Jaydin Pommer
Stephen Rozniatowski   Rebekah Sass
Clement Sackey   Erin Tramley
Anthony Sesay   Tegan Turner
Shelby Sinclair   Jaime Wong
Nathan Smith      
Sidiki Sow      
James Teschuk      
Matthew Van Schepdael      
Carter Wilson      
Borzah Yankey      




Team Manitoba Finishes in Third Place

The 2011 Western Canada Summer Games in Kamloops concluded with Team Manitoba finishing in third place. Manitoba accumulated a total of 166 Flag Points – based on a ranking and scoring system in each individual sport – to maintain its standing from the previous Games in 2007.  British Columbia placed first with 213 points. Alberta was second with 187. Saskatchewan placed fourth with 159 points, followed by the North West Territories with 33, Yukon with 30 and Nunavut with 6.

Manitoba also won a total of 107 medals over the ten days of competition – 22 gold, 40 silver and 45 bronze.     Gold medal performances by Manitoba’s two Closing Ceremonies Flag Bearers – Alia Ross from Gymnastics and Anna Schappert from Cycling – highlighted the final day of competition.
Posted: August 14, 2011